The Municipality of Deryneia took up a twin-community relationship with the community of Kalythies Rhodes in March 1990 and with the Pellas Municipality in February 2001.

Twinning with the Community Kalythies Rhodes

The Kalithies Community is located on the northeast coast of the island and has a population of 4,000 inhabitants. It’s beachfront, Faliraki, has had a great tourist development.

In 1999 with the implementation of the law 2539/1997 for the First Phase of the Restructuring of the Local Authorities within the program "Ioannis Kapodistrias" the Community of Kalythies together with the neighbouring communities Koskinou and Psinthos were merged and consolidated the Municipality "Kallithea" with a total population of 10,200 inhabitants.

The website of the Municipality of Kallithea is:

The Twinning events were held in March 1990 in Deryneia and in October of the same year in Kalithies. The twinning protocol was signed by the presidents of Commons Mr Andreas Panteli and Stefanos Kyriazis during the celebratory events involving large groups of people from outside of the community. Apart from the development of relations and the exchange of experience between the local authorities, ample relationships also developed between the residents of both municipalities.

Mr Giannis Iatridis has been the Mayor of Kallithea since 1999.

Twinning with the Municipality of Pella

The Municipality of Pella is located in the homonym prefecture and was established in 1989. It is considered the birthplace of Alexander the Great and historically refers to an origin before 400 B.C. There is an archaeological site located in the region of Pella, where excavations have brought many important findings to daylight. The New Archaeological Museum, which was inaugurated in 2009 by the then Prime Minister Konstantinos Karamanlis, operates on the grounds of the site.

With the implementation of the Law 2539/1997 for the First Phase of the Restructuring of the Local Authorities within the program "Ioannis Kapodistrias" the administrative districts of Athiron, Nea Pella, Rachonas, Ditiko and Agrosykia were incorporated in the municipality in 1999. The population of the municipality now counts 7,300 residents.

The Twinning events were took place in Pella in February 2001 and in Deryneia in April 2002. The twinning protocols were signed by the Mayors of Pella and Deryneia Mr Sarantis Mouchtari and Mrs Flora Ioannou in Pella and by Mr Sarantis Mouchtari and Mr Andreas Shapanis in Deryneia.

Mayors of Pella have been the following persons:

1989 - 1999 Georgios Remelis

1999 - 2003 Sarantis Mouchtaris

2003 - 2007 Vasilis Xiros

2007 - today Apostolos Tsaldaferidis

The Municipality's e-mail address is: and the Council's website is: